Tapesearch Logo

Anesthesia and Critical Care Reviews and Commentary (ACCRAC) Podcast

Jed Wolpaw

Health & Fitness

4.71.4K Ratings

Overview

A Podcast for Anesthesia and Critical Care Reviews, Debates and Commentary

280 Episodes

Episode 281: Glycemic Control in the ICU with Traci Grucz

In this 281st episode I welcome our SICU pharmacist, Traci Grucz, to the show to discuss glycemic management of critical ill patients. Our Sponsors: * Check out Neurohacker: neurohacker.com/ACCRAC Advertising Inquiries: https://redcircle.com/brands Privacy & Opt-Out: https://redcircle.com/privacy

Transcribed - Published: 6 May 2024

Episode 280: Keywords Part 27: Shock States and A Tribute to Dr. Gillian Isaac

In this 280th episode I share the shocking and tragic news that Dr. Gillian Isaac died suddenly and unexpectedly a few weeks ago. She was an incredible human being, teacher, doctor, wife and mother. She will be missed more than I can say by more people than we can possibly count. I know that she would want us to continue with these keyword episodes that she loved doing and so I am going to try. I know they will never be the same, but they will be dedicated to her memory. Today I address the keyword of shock states and discuss the 4 types of shock and how they may be covered on your exams. I miss you, Gillian. Our Sponsors: * Check out Neurohacker: neurohacker.com/ACCRAC Advertising Inquiries: https://redcircle.com/brands Privacy & Opt-Out: https://redcircle.com/privacy

Transcribed - Published: 21 April 2024

Episode 279: What does an Anesthesiologist Do with Phil Carullo

In this 279th episode I welcome Dr. Phil Carullo back to the show to discuss what, exactly, an anesthesiologist does and how we fit into the perioperative experience for patients. Our Sponsors: * Check out Neurohacker: neurohacker.com/ACCRAC Advertising Inquiries: https://redcircle.com/brands Privacy & Opt-Out: https://redcircle.com/privacy

Transcribed - Published: 7 April 2024

Episode 278: Liver Physiology

In this 278th episode I discuss what you need to know about liver physiology for your exams. Advertising Inquiries: https://redcircle.com/brands Privacy & Opt-Out: https://redcircle.com/privacy

Transcribed - Published: 23 March 2024

Episode 277: Keywords part 26: Adrenal Diseases with Gillian Isaac

In this 277th episode I welcome Dr. Gillian Isaac back for another ABA keyword episode. We discuss Adrenal Diseases and the questions you're likely to see about them on your exams. Our Sponsors: * Check out Factor 75 and use my code accrac50 for a great deal: https://www.factor75.com Advertising Inquiries: https://redcircle.com/brands Privacy & Opt-Out: https://redcircle.com/privacy

Transcribed - Published: 10 March 2024

Episode 276: Perioperative URIs in Kids with Rita Saynhalath

In this 276th episode I welcome pediatric anesthesiologist Dr. rita Saynhalath to the show to discuss how to manage kids presenting for surgery with a recent URI. We discuss the evidence for proceeding versus postponing, whether the type of virus matters, and how to handle COVID infections. Our Sponsors: * Check out Factor 75 and use my code accrac50 for a great deal: https://www.factor75.com Advertising Inquiries: https://redcircle.com/brands Privacy & Opt-Out: https://redcircle.com/privacy

Transcribed - Published: 25 February 2024

Episode 275: Healthy Cooking with Myles Snider

In this 275th episode I welcome Chef Myles Snider to the show to discuss how busy professionals can cook tasty, healthy meals for themselves and their families. Our Sponsors: * Check out Factor 75 and use my code accrac50 for a great deal: https://www.factor75.com Advertising Inquiries: https://redcircle.com/brands Privacy & Opt-Out: https://redcircle.com/privacy

Transcribed - Published: 11 February 2024

Episode 274: Anaphylaxis and Other Perioperative Hypersensitivity Reactions with Jonathan Kay

In this 274th episode I welcome Dr. Jonathan Kay (JK) to the show to discuss perioperative hypersensitivity reactions. We focus on the diagnosis and treatment of anaphylaxis and also discuss antibiotic allergies and how to deal with the ever present allergy to PCN. Our Sponsors: * Check out Factor 75 and use my code accrac50 for a great deal: https://www.factor75.com * Check out HelloFresh and use my code accracfree for a great deal: https://www.hellofresh.com/ Advertising Inquiries: https://redcircle.com/brands Privacy & Opt-Out: https://redcircle.com/privacy

Transcribed - Published: 28 January 2024

Episode 273: Anesthesia for Fetal Surgery with Caitlin Sutton

In this 273rd episode I welcome Dr. Caitlin Sutton to the show to discuss Anesthesia for fetal surgical procedures. We discuss some common procedures, how the anesthesia is done and why, what can go wrong and how to prepare, and what the future holds. Our Sponsors: * Check out Factor 75 and use my code accrac50 for a great deal: https://www.factor75.com * Check out HelloFresh and use my code accracfree for a great deal: https://www.hellofresh.com/ Advertising Inquiries: https://redcircle.com/brands Privacy & Opt-Out: https://redcircle.com/privacy

Transcribed - Published: 14 January 2024

Episode 272: Supporting Mothers in Anesthesiology with Kinza Berical

In this 272nd episode I welcome Dr. Kinza Berical to the show to discuss her work developing support systems for mothers who practice anesthesiology. We discuss navigating pregnancy and prenatal care, breastfeeding, mentorship around pregnancy loss, IVF and childcare. Our Sponsors: * Check out Factor 75 and use my code accrac50 for a great deal: https://www.factor75.com * Check out HelloFresh and use my code accracfree for a great deal: https://www.hellofresh.com/ Advertising Inquiries: https://redcircle.com/brands Privacy & Opt-Out: https://redcircle.com/privacy

Transcribed - Published: 1 January 2024

Episode 271: Keywords Part 25: Lower Extremity Nerve Blocks

In this 271st episode I welcome Dr. Gillian Isaac back to the show for another ABA keyword episode. We discuss lower extremity nerve blocks. Our Sponsors: * Check out Factor 75 and use my code accrac50 for a great deal: https://www.factor75.com * Check out Magic Mind and use my code ACC20 for a great deal: https://www.magicmind.com/ Advertising Inquiries: https://redcircle.com/brands Privacy & Opt-Out: https://redcircle.com/privacy

Transcribed - Published: 18 December 2023

Episode 270: Dexmedetomidine as an Adjuvant with Drs. Douglas and Soloniuk

In this 270th episode I welcome Drs. Michael Douglas and Leonard Soloniuk to the show to discuss the use of dexmedetomidine in spinals, epidurals and nerve blocks. Our Sponsors: * Check out Magic Mind and use my code ACC20 for a great deal: https://www.magicmind.com/ Advertising Inquiries: https://redcircle.com/brands Privacy & Opt-Out: https://redcircle.com/privacy

Transcribed - Published: 5 December 2023

Episode 269: New Frontiers in Preop Assessment and Optimization with Dr. Jeanna Blitz

In this 269th episode I welcome Dr. Jeanna Blitz to the show to discuss the newest, most evidence based approach to preoperative assessment and optimization of patients. We discuss the use of biomarkers, alternatives to RCRI and using METS alone and assessment and optimization of frailty, nutritional status, anemia, psychological status and functional status. Our Sponsors: * Check out Magic Mind and use my code ACC20 for a great deal: https://www.magicmind.com/ Advertising Inquiries: https://redcircle.com/brands Privacy & Opt-Out: https://redcircle.com/privacy

Transcribed - Published: 19 November 2023

Episode 268: The State of Fellowships In Anesthesiology

In this 268th episode I welcome Drs. Carullo, Kostibas, Isaac, Banks and Segna to the show. They are our peds, cardiac, OB, critical care and regional fellowship directors and we discuss the state of fellowships in anesthesiology. Advertising Inquiries: https://redcircle.com/brands Privacy & Opt-Out: https://redcircle.com/privacy

Transcribed - Published: 5 November 2023

Episode 267: The Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation (APSF) with Alli Bechtel

In this 267th episode I welcome Dr. Alli Bechtel to the show to discuss the Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation where she works as their podcast host. We discuss the APSF top 10 priorities, what they include and what guidance clinicians can get from them. Advertising Inquiries: https://redcircle.com/brands Privacy & Opt-Out: https://redcircle.com/privacy

Transcribed - Published: 23 October 2023

Episode 266: Live from ASA 2023! Post-op Delirium and Patient Monitoring with Drs. Culley and Eichorn

This special 266th episode was recorded before a live audience at the Anesthesiology 2023 Annual Meeting in San Francisco. I interviewed Dr. Deb Culley about post-op delirium and Dr. John Eichorn about the history and future of patient monitoring. Advertising Inquiries: https://redcircle.com/brands Privacy & Opt-Out: https://redcircle.com/privacy

Transcribed - Published: 19 October 2023

Episode 265: Keywords Part 24: Nitroprusside and Nitroglycerin, hemoglobinopathies part 2

In this 265th episode I welcome Dr. Gillian Isaac back to the show to do another ABA Keyword episode. We follow up on the last one by discussing Nitroprusside, Nitroyglycerin and their effect on hemoglobin Advertising Inquiries: https://redcircle.com/brands Privacy & Opt-Out: https://redcircle.com/privacy

Transcribed - Published: 8 October 2023

Episode 264: TAAA Repair with Dr. Mimi Wynn

In this 264th episode I welcome Dr. Mimi Wynn to the show to discuss anesthesia for TAAA repair. We discuss preoperative concerns, intraoperative management, postoperative concerns especially spinal cord ischemia, and how to reduce the risk of that dreaded complication. Advertising Inquiries: https://redcircle.com/brands Privacy & Opt-Out: https://redcircle.com/privacy

Transcribed - Published: 24 September 2023

Episode 263: Radiation Safety with Dr. Mahesh

In this 263rd episode I welcome Dr. Mahesh to the show to discuss radiation safety for anesthesia providers in the OR and procedure suites. Advertising Inquiries: https://redcircle.com/brands Privacy & Opt-Out: https://redcircle.com/privacy

Transcribed - Published: 11 September 2023

Episode 262: Perioperative Methadone with Evan Kharash

In this 262nd episode I welcome Dr. Evan Kharash to the show to discuss the use of methadone perioperatively instead of more commonly used opioids such as fentanyl and dilaudid. We discuss the safety of methadone, how it works, and the evidence for superiority in terms of pain control, total opioid use, and patient satisfaction. Advertising Inquiries: https://redcircle.com/brands Privacy & Opt-Out: https://redcircle.com/privacy

Transcribed - Published: 28 August 2023

Episode 261: Aviation Safety Applied to Medicine with Matt Renz

In this 261st episode I welcome professional commercial pilot and safety expert Matt Renz to the show to discuss aviation safety and how it can apply to medicine. Advertising Inquiries: https://redcircle.com/brands Privacy & Opt-Out: https://redcircle.com/privacy

Transcribed - Published: 14 August 2023

Episode 260: Malignant Hyperthermia with Dr. Berman

In this 260th episode I welcome Dr. Dave Berman back to the show to discuss malignant hyperthermia. Dr. Berman is a volunteer with the MH hotline and he discussed the history, epidemiology, genetics, testing, prevention and management of MH and then we discuss some cases. Advertising Inquiries: https://redcircle.com/brands Privacy & Opt-Out: https://redcircle.com/privacy

Transcribed - Published: 30 July 2023

Episode 259: Keywords part 23: Pulse-Ox and hemoglobinopathies part 1

In this 259th episode I welcome Dr. Gillian Isaac back to the show to discuss another set of ABA key words. We discuss the pulse oximeter and some hemoglobinopathies that can affect its readings. Advertising Inquiries: https://redcircle.com/brands Privacy & Opt-Out: https://redcircle.com/privacy

Transcribed - Published: 16 July 2023

Episode 258: Pro-con debate: Whether to use an existing labor epidural for C-section with Drs. Hofkamp and Sharpe

In this 258th episode I welcome Dr Emily Sharpe and Dr. Mike Hofkamp back to the show to have a pro-con debate about what to do when a woman in labor with an epidural in place has to go unexpectedly for c-section. Dr. Hofkamp argues for removing the epidural and doing a second neuraxial technique while Dr. Sharpe argues for using the existing epidural. Advertising Inquiries: https://redcircle.com/brands Privacy & Opt-Out: https://redcircle.com/privacy

Transcribed - Published: 3 July 2023

Episode 257: Transsphenoidal Pituitary Surgery with Dr. Cara Esser

In this 257th episode I welcome Dr. Cara Esser back to the show to discuss the ins and outs of transsphenoidal pituitary surgery and what to keep in mind preoperatively, intraoperatively and postoperatively. Advertising Inquiries: https://redcircle.com/brands Privacy & Opt-Out: https://redcircle.com/privacy

Transcribed - Published: 19 June 2023

Episode 256: Neuromuscular Diseases with Dr. Cara Esser

In this 256th episode I welcome Dr. Cara Esser to the show to discuss neuromuscular diseases that are important to know for Anesthesia and Critical Care. Advertising Inquiries: https://redcircle.com/brands Privacy & Opt-Out: https://redcircle.com/privacy

Transcribed - Published: 4 June 2023

Episode 255: Program Signals, Geographic Preferences and Applying in Anesthesiology with Drs. Dutoit and Teeter

In this 255th episode I welcome Drs. Dutoit and Teeter to the show to discuss the changes to the ERAS application system including program signals, geographic preferences, experiences, and general advice. We answer questions submitted by the ASA Medical Student Component. Advertising Inquiries: https://redcircle.com/brands Privacy & Opt-Out: https://redcircle.com/privacy

Transcribed - Published: 21 May 2023

Episode 254: Keywords Part 22: Dystrophies and Trisomy 21

In this 254th episode I welcome Dr. Gillian Isaac back to the show for another ABA Keyword episode. We discuss muscular dystrophies and trisomy 21. Advertising Inquiries: https://redcircle.com/brands Privacy & Opt-Out: https://redcircle.com/privacy

Transcribed - Published: 8 May 2023

Episode 253: The Acute Pain Service with Drs. Segna, Rayaz, Jaremko and Barnhart

In this 253rd episode I welcome Drs. Segna, Rayaz, Jaremko and Barnhart to the show to discuss the acute pain service, how to formulate a multimodal acute pain regimen for a patient, and how to think about the various medications involved. Advertising Inquiries: https://redcircle.com/brands Privacy & Opt-Out: https://redcircle.com/privacy

Transcribed - Published: 24 April 2023

Episode 252: Palliative Care in the ICU with Dr. Tim Poore

In this 252nd episode I welcome Dr. Tim Poore, a palliative care physician, to the show to discuss palliative care in general and in the ICU in particular. He gives us some concrete tools to use when having difficult, end of life conversations with patients and families. Advertising Inquiries: https://redcircle.com/brands Privacy & Opt-Out: https://redcircle.com/privacy

Transcribed - Published: 10 April 2023

Episode 251: Organ Donation with Drs. Vail and Goyal

In this 251st episode I welcome Dr. Emily Vail and Dr. Varun Goyal to the show to discuss the Anesthesiologist's role in organ donation. Advertising Inquiries: https://redcircle.com/brands Privacy & Opt-Out: https://redcircle.com/privacy

Transcribed - Published: 27 March 2023

Episode 250: Careers in Anesthesiology with Drs. Essandoh, Cody and Kjome

In this 250th episode I welcome back Drs. Essandoh and Cody and, for the first time, Dr. Kjome, to discuss different career settings in anesthesiology. We discuss academics, the military and private practice. Advertising Inquiries: https://redcircle.com/brands Privacy & Opt-Out: https://redcircle.com/privacy

Transcribed - Published: 13 March 2023

Episode 249: Keywords Part 21: Retrobulbar Blocks and the Oculocardiac Reflex

In this 249th episode I welcome Dr. Gillian Isaac back to the show for another ABA Keyword episode. We discuss retrobulbar blocks and the oculocardiac reflex. Advertising Inquiries: https://redcircle.com/brands Privacy & Opt-Out: https://redcircle.com/privacy

Transcribed - Published: 27 February 2023

Episode 248: AKI in the ICU with Samir Gautam

In this 248th episode I welcome Dr. Samir Gautam to the show. Dr. Gautam is a nephrologist specializing in AKI in the ICU and we talk about the diagnosis, causes, treatment and prognosis of AKI. Advertising Inquiries: https://redcircle.com/brands Privacy & Opt-Out: https://redcircle.com/privacy

Transcribed - Published: 13 February 2023

Episode 247: The Awake and Walking ICU and the ABCDEF Bundle with Kali Dayton

In this 247th episode I welcome Kali Dayton back to the show to discuss her work helping ICUs around the country learn how to get their intubated patients awake and up and walking and implement the ABCDEF bundle. Advertising Inquiries: https://redcircle.com/brands Privacy & Opt-Out: https://redcircle.com/privacy

Transcribed - Published: 30 January 2023

Episode 246: Tape with Dr. Phil Carullo

In this 246th episode I welcome Dr. Phil Carullo to the show to discuss Tape. That's right, tape. We discuss tape as a medical device, the tape-skin interface, how to prevent injury and infections from tape, and the evidence for different taping techniques. Advertising Inquiries: https://redcircle.com/brands Privacy & Opt-Out: https://redcircle.com/privacy

Transcribed - Published: 17 January 2023

Episode 245: Simulation in Anesthesia Education with Drs. Miller and Schiavi

In this 245th episode I welcome Drs. Christina Miller and Adam Schiavi to the show to discuss the importance of simulation, the evidence for using it in education, and important lessons learned in how to develop an effective program for trainees. Advertising Inquiries: https://redcircle.com/brands Privacy & Opt-Out: https://redcircle.com/privacy

Transcribed - Published: 2 January 2023

Episode 244: Pulmonary Artery Pulsatility Index to Assess Right Heart Function with Drs. Essandoh and Kumar

In this 244th episode I welcome back Dr. Mike Essandoh and welcome for the first time Dr. Nick Kumar to discuss their recent article about using a novel hemodynamic measurement, the Pulmonary Artery Pulsatility Index (PAPI) to assess right heart function in general and in LVAD recipients specifically. Advertising Inquiries: https://redcircle.com/brands Privacy & Opt-Out: https://redcircle.com/privacy

Transcribed - Published: 20 December 2022

Episode 243: Dental Anesthesia with Jae Grymes

In this 243rd episode I welcome Dr. Jae Grymes to the show. Jae is a board certified pediatric dentist and a board certified dental anesthesiologist. We talk about the field of dental anesthesiology, its history, training, and the role that it plays in dentistry. We also discuss the controversial practice of dentists doing their own anesthesia. Advertising Inquiries: https://redcircle.com/brands Privacy & Opt-Out: https://redcircle.com/privacy

Transcribed - Published: 5 December 2022

Episode 242: The Rescue with Harry Harris

In this 242nd episode I welcome Dr. Richard "Harry" Harris to the show to discuss his incredible experience saving the lives of the Thai boys soccer team that was trapped in a flooded cave in Thailand in 2018. Advertising Inquiries: https://redcircle.com/brands Privacy & Opt-Out: https://redcircle.com/privacy

Transcribed - Published: 21 November 2022

Episode 241: Jesse Ehrenfeld Live in New Orleans

In this 241st episode we play the audio from our live podcast in New Orleans at the Anesthesiology 2022 conference. We discuss Jesse's impressive career including his recent election as president-elect of the AMA, his advocacy work, and his work with AI in healthcare. Advertising Inquiries: https://redcircle.com/brands Privacy & Opt-Out: https://redcircle.com/privacy

Transcribed - Published: 7 November 2022

Episode 240: Inadequate Analgesia During C-section with Mike Hofkamp and Emily Sharpe

In this 240th episode I welcome Drs. Hofkamp and Sharpe to the show to discuss their work investigating whether there may be inadequate analgesia for patients undergoing cesarean delivery. Advertising Inquiries: https://redcircle.com/brands Privacy & Opt-Out: https://redcircle.com/privacy

Transcribed - Published: 24 October 2022

Announcement: Live ACCRAC Episode at ASA in New Orleans!

Hey there ACCRAC listeners! If you'll be at the ASA annual meeting in New Orleans on October 22nd come check out our live podcast at 2pm from Center Stage. We'll be interviewing Dr. Jesse Ehrenfeld, president-elect of the AMA! Our Sponsors: * Check out Factor 75 and use my code accrac50 for a great deal: https://www.factor75.com * Check out Magic Mind and use my code ACC20 for a great deal: https://www.magicmind.com/ Advertising Inquiries: https://redcircle.com/brands Privacy & Opt-Out: https://redcircle.com/privacy

Transcribed - Published: 15 October 2022

Episode 239: Determined: How Burned Out Doctors Can Thrive in a Broken Medical System with Dr. Jimmy Turner

In this 239th episode I welcome Dr. Jimmy Turner back to the show. Jimmy is an academic anesthesiologist at Wake Forest in North Carolina and a certified coach for physicians. He is also the founder of The Physician Philosopher blog and podcast. In addition to this, he is the author of a book that came out in July of 2022 entitled Determined: How Burned Out Doctors Can Thrive in a Broken Medical System. We discuss his book and it's messages about burnout and resilience. Advertising Inquiries: https://redcircle.com/brands Privacy & Opt-Out: https://redcircle.com/privacy

Transcribed - Published: 10 October 2022

Episode 238: Financial Planning Update with Justin Harvey

In this 238th episode I welcome back Financial Planner Justin Harvey to discuss the recent changes in student loans, public service loan forgiveness, the No Surprises Act, the pros and cons of doing a fellowship versus going straight into practice, and mistakes to avoid when starting a new job. Advertising Inquiries: https://redcircle.com/brands Privacy & Opt-Out: https://redcircle.com/privacy

Transcribed - Published: 26 September 2022

Episode 237: Health Care Provider Burnout with Bryan Sexton

In this 237th episode I welcome Dr. Bryan Sexton to the show to discuss his work with characterizing, researching and trying to address healthcare provider burnout. We discuss what burnout is and how it differs from moral injury, how to prevent it, treat it, and what a better system might look like. Advertising Inquiries: https://redcircle.com/brands Privacy & Opt-Out: https://redcircle.com/privacy

Transcribed - Published: 11 September 2022

Episode 236: Gun Violence Prevention with Dr. Katherine Hoops

In this 236th episode I welcome Dr. Katherine Hoops to the show to discuss her work with gun violence prevention. We discuss the horrific statistics around gun violence during the COVID pandemic, what can be done to try to prevent it, and what providers can do to help. Advertising Inquiries: https://redcircle.com/brands Privacy & Opt-Out: https://redcircle.com/privacy

Transcribed - Published: 29 August 2022

Episode 235: What Happens When Doctors Get Sick, the Physician-as-patient, with Drs. Castro-Frenzel and Saadat

In this 235th episode I welcome Drs. Karla Castro-Frenzel and Haleh Saadat to the show. They share their stories of being diagnosed with serious diseases, becoming physician-as-patients, and how they coped with the diagnosis and figured out how to move forward. Advertising Inquiries: https://redcircle.com/brands Privacy & Opt-Out: https://redcircle.com/privacy

Transcribed - Published: 15 August 2022

Episode 234: Keywords Part 20: PONV

In this 234th episode I welcome Dr. Gillian Isaac back to the show to discuss another ABA keyword. We cover PONV for the Basic and Advanced exam. Advertising Inquiries: https://redcircle.com/brands Privacy & Opt-Out: https://redcircle.com/privacy

Transcribed - Published: 1 August 2022

Episode 233: Presenting Anesthesia Plans with Drs. Madan and Buhl

In this 233rd episode we post a recording from Drs. Elena Madan and Lauren Buhl about how to optimally present anesthesia plans. Advertising Inquiries: https://redcircle.com/brands Privacy & Opt-Out: https://redcircle.com/privacy

Transcribed - Published: 18 July 2022

Disclaimer: The podcast and artwork embedded on this page are from Jed Wolpaw, and are the property of its owner and not affiliated with or endorsed by Tapesearch.

Copyright © Tapesearch 2024.